Feed Me, I’m Hungry!

Hungry

I was standing outside of the fire station yesterday when I was approached by a homeless man.  He made some very brief small talk and then asked me if I would buy him a hotdog from the 7-11 across the street.  

I was struck by the fact that the man was not asking for money but instead he was asking for food.  I was very impressed by this and responding to the urge of the Holy Spirit, I led him across the street.

As he picked out his food the Lord began to lay His love for the man on my heart.  I was filled with compassion and began to wonder if just buying food for the man was going to be the entire experience or if God had something else in mind.

I paid for his food and invited him to sit at a table we had set up outside of our station.  I sat with him and I heard the soft voice of the Holy Spirit urge me to ask the man if I could pray for him.  

I asked him if I could pray for him and he responded with a big smile and said, “absolutely, I love Jesus!”  I began to pray for him and the Lord began to speak to my heart.  

I began to share with him what the Lord was saying to me and everything I shared with him was having a direct impact on his heart.  As the Lord revealed things that only He could know the man was filled with hope and encouragement.  The Lord was speaking directly to the mans heart through me.  

As the pray ended the man was speechless.  He went on his way and I knew that he had definitely been fed.  

I’m reminded that so many times we only see the physical needs of people and it can be a great thing to respond to those needs.  But Jesus always sees the hearts hunger for Him and I seeks to meet that need.  He will provide for our physical needs but I believe He longs to heal hearts.  

Has there been times when you stopped after providing a physical need when maybe God wanted to do a little more?  Do you have a story you want to share?  Share your stories and comments here.

6 thoughts on “Feed Me, I’m Hungry!

  1. Mr. Jesse –
    He was not the only one fed….I know you were also…Just reading this blog post, I prayed for that man and his precious soul and I prayed for yours and that you and your beautiful family receive infinite blessings. Yes, indeed, I am full as well. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Sarah Turner

    • Sarah,

      Yes, I was fed. Jesus is the Bread of Life and He is the water that quenches our thirst forever! I am always incredibly blessed every time God uses an ordinary person like me to be an extension of His mighty love! Thanks for your prayers and encouragement.

Share Your Thoughts!

