Anxiety Gone!

peaceful

I was in the middle of checking my rescue (ambulance) one morning when a car pulled up to the station.  An older woman got out and quickly told us that her neighbor was in the car in need of medical help.

We hurried over to the passenger side of the vehicle to discover a young woman having a severe anxiety or panic attack.  Anyone who has panic attacks will tell you that they can quickly become completely incapacitating.  The young woman was on the verge of losing control completely meaning the only way to calm her down would be to medicate her.

We helped her to the stretcher and loaded her into the rescue.  We did our routine things like starting an IV and hooking up the monitor, all the while trying to calm her down.  Nothing was working as her muscles began to spasm uncontrollably.

We pulled out of the station and made our way towards the hospital.  The patient’s heart rate was 130 beats per min and she was breathing very fast.  She was also unable to lean back on the stretcher because her body was so worked up.

At that point I felt the familiar nudge of the Holy Spirit asking me to pray for the woman.  I looked at the women on the verge of complete collapse and asked her if I could pray for her.  She nodded her head yes.  I asked her if I could put my hand on her should and she told me that I could.

Over the next few minutes I prayed the words God gave me to pray.  I prayed against the spirit of fear and commanded it to leave.  God also gave me some insight into her life and I prayed about those things.  I asked the Holy Spirit to fill the rescue and rule in her heart.

As soon as I was finished I looked up to see the young woman breathing normally and relaxed against the stretcher.  Her heart rate was 80 beats per minute and the muscles were no longer having spasms!

We talked a little bit more and she had a big smile on her face as we entered the hospital.  A while later I walked by her room to see her sleeping comfortably.

 

Jesse and Kara Birkey

www.reflectministry.com

jbirkey@reflectministry.com

jessebirkey.wordpress.com

twitter.com/JesseBirkey

http://www.facebook.com/LifeResurrected

Share Your Thoughts!

