Failed Prayer for Healing

confused-man

 

There are times in which we pray for someone in need of physical healing and the person does not get healed.  These can be hard times as we struggle with the “why” questions.  But we must not automatically equate no healing with failure.

On day at work I encountered a woman who had broken her femur.  She tripped and fell and was in a lot of pain.  Those who have broken their femur know what a terrible injury this is.

We gave her pain medicine as quickly as we could and did our best to be gentle as we splinted her leg.  Even with the pain medicine on board it was still very painful on any kind of movement.

It took a little time but we got her all fixed up and into the rescue (ambulance).  On our way to the hospital I was moved by compassion as the Holy Spirit nudged me into action.  I was riding in the back with my partner who is also a believer.

I was actually holding the splinted leg as the road bumps were causing some movement and more pain.  I looked at her and, with discernment from God, asked her if I could pray for her leg.  She looked very surprised and told me that I could.

I put my hands gently on her broken leg and prayed the words God have me to pray.  The praying lasted only for a few minutes and when I was done the leg was still broken but something else happened.  Peace filled the rescue and joy filled the woman’s heart.  She was very touched by the love God showed her in the middle of her crisis.

The rest of the ride went very well as the woman had realized God was there for her even in this.  We transferred her to the care of the ER and on the way out stopped by to check on her.  Her husband was there and sincerely thanked me for praying for his wife.

That simple act of obedience made such a great impact on the couple.  There is a reason-and most likely many reasons-why God nudges us to do things.  In this case the reasons were outside of instant healing but it was by no means a failed encounter.

So be encouraged that if you’ve prayed for someone to be healed and they weren’t, God still did something special.  Blessings,

 

 

Jesse and Kara Birkey

www.reflectministry.com

jbirkey@reflectministry.com

jessebirkey.wordpress.com

twitter.com/JesseBirkey

http://www.facebook.com/LifeResurrected

Share Your Thoughts!

